top of page

Unity: One God, One Faith, One Baptism

What comes to mind when you think about unity? When you look it up in the dictionary you will find: Unity is being in harmony or one in spirit or other variations. For the church Paul implored us to live knowing that There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. (Ephesians 4:4-6 NIV)


God wants us to live in unity with each other. He did not want His church to be divided. Yet this principle can be one that tears us down. Now I am not saying that to be unified we have to be the same. God has given each of us a gift of the spirit. I am great at ministering to children, my heart lies there. Where another person's gift is anointed prayer warrior. We are different but our gifts make us a unified whole. We stand against evil as one.


Despite this, there have been times that we as a whole, have been divided. Miscommunication, hurt feelings, anger, I could go on, tears the church apart. I have witnessed a church torn apart by these such things. It is not a pretty sight. It tears God apart to see those who are baptised in His name, not able to have the peace that come with being unified and loving. The lack of unity leaves the door open for Satan to get a stronghold and turn us against one another. Paul warns us, Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body. “In your anger do not sin”[d]: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold. Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you. (Ephesians 4:25-32 NIV)


I have struggled with this. For transparency I have written this blog many times. It's a case of praying for direction and God revealing to you that these verses have not been processed for me. This was my devotion for Tuesday worship last week, but God broke me down and the hurt and anger that I am still feeling flowed out. While I share this with you it is not for you to feel sorry for me, but so that you can guide me and keep me accountable to you as I write these weekly blogs. I also believe that there may be some of you whom struggle with the same feelings that I do. Know that we are loved, we are held, and we are allowed to lament. All God asks is for us to extend forgiveness and He forgave us.


Yours in Christ

Heather




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Spouse, Happy House

I know that Ephesians 5 covers many things, the one I want to focus on is verses 21 - 31 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to t

bottom of page