top of page

I'm a Kid Again

Mark 10:13 - 16 People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.


2-5 For an answer Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, “I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom. What’s more, when you receive the childlike on my account, it’s the same as receiving me.

Have you ever sat and watched a child? I mean really watched them. I have been reliving some of my greatest moments as a parent now as a grandparent. I am also looking at this through different eyes. These eyes are not the angry with God and denying that He exists, but as someone who knows and acknowledges that He does. I in some ways am still a child with the way that I am learning and loving. See a child loves with their whole heart, not expecting anything in return. They imitate their parents and those around them because that is how they learn, but I ask what are we teaching them? I am sadden to know that my two young men do not believe that God is truth, because I taught them by my actions that He wasn't. Things happened because you made them happen. Bad things happen because there is no one to stop them. It breaks my heart that now when I try to speak about God, they just throw my words back at me.

Now don't get me wrong, I will respect my children's decisions when it comes to talking about Jesus, God, the Bible to my grandchildren. Though so far they have not told me not to. I praise the Lord that maybe the changes that I have made even late in life, is having some effect on them. I have found peace that has ease their worry about me. Now with my grandson, when I sing the Sunday school songs that I am sure we have all learned light up his face. I know that he understands, and I will continue to teach him about God. The bonus is that I now get to relive those moments when I was younger to come back. I am seeing God through the eyes of a child. I am relearning the importance of being child-like when doing training, finding ways to reach out to others, and how to view life.

God knows what he is doing in my life, He has broken me down and through my grandson He is building me to be the servant that He needs to further His kingdom. Is he doing that for you? Are you seeing it? Are you listening? Are you watching?


Yours in Christ

Heather

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Spouse, Happy House

I know that Ephesians 5 covers many things, the one I want to focus on is verses 21 - 31 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to t

bottom of page