top of page

Our Words

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

Proverbs 16:20-24 (MSG) It pays to take life seriously: things work out when you trust in God. A wise person gets known for insight; gracious words add to one’s reputation. True intelligence is a spring of fresh water, while fools sweat it out the hard way. They make a lot of sense, these wise folks; whenever they speak, their reputation increases. Gracious speech is like clover honey--good taste to the soul, quick energy for the body.


"Stick and stones may break my bones but names can never hurt me." How many times have we heard that in our life, or even spoke those words. There were many times in my life that I wished that was true, but some words can really hurt. Stupid, worthless, unwanted, and so on, just writing them out makes me want to cry. These words cut to the core and leave a big hole. Smart, precious, loved, writing these words lifted my spirits, made me feel special.


Your choice of words really do make a difference. Your words can show what type of person you are, or who you aren't. Being made in the image of God we should be aware of the words we speak. We are to be an example for those who do not believe, so that they see in us what we have in God. He was very clear in His word that we are to speak with love, even when angry, hurt, or happy. When Jesus spoke to all in the Bible, He made sure that the words that He spoke were made to educate and uplift, not to belittle. When we chose our words we must follow His example.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Spouse, Happy House

I know that Ephesians 5 covers many things, the one I want to focus on is verses 21 - 31 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to t

bottom of page