top of page

Leave The World Behind

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

James 3 taught us how to surrender and acknowledge that God is in control. James 4 teaches us the ways in which we can continue to be humble. It can be difficult to live in the world and not become enmeshed in it.


How many of us have prayed but prayed for selfish reasons? I know when I was younger I would pray that if God would just get me that "in shirt", those "pump shoes", etc. I would never misbehave again. I never received them and I would continue to do as I wanted or found another way to get the items I wanted. Though when I prayed for my grandmother to not be sick anymore and for God to help her, despite her death I did get what I wanted. My Grandma was no longer sick, her suffering had ended. Do we see the difference in what we are asking for. God will not fulfil our earthly desires, the ability to get items that we are coveting, He answers those prayers that humble us.


The hardest part of my relationship with God has been to submit myself to him. I know what is better in my life, I know what I need. The funny thing is, or shall I say the best thing is, is once I submitted his life to him I have found that I have all that I need. With Christmas just around the corner I have found that I am embracing the reason to celebrate. COVID has been kicking our butts, and we are angry that we can not be with family. Think now how Mary and Joseph felt, they are travelling on a donkey to be registered, alone. They arrive in town and instead of having a plush four star hotel, they are in a barn with animals. They are having a baby, alone, no doctors, nurses, or family surrounding them, Yet they are at peace with this. They know that they are not alone, they have God watching over them. This birth will result in the Savoir of man. How miraculous and humbling an event. I challenge you to focus on this.


Now think if Mary didn't have Joseph with her. How would she be viewed then? It would really change the story wouldn't you agree? A running theme with James has been to tame our tongues. During these trying times there has been a lot of judgement flying around. Words that hurt, that lie, or words to destroy. It marvels me how easy it is to put someone down, especially on-line. You want to know what is easier, keeping your opinion to yourself and let God do what He does best. It doesn't make you any better if you can tear someone down, in fact it makes you look bad. How about instead of using your tongue to judge why not use that tongue to pray and ask how you can help? Or better yet, why don't you ask the person you are judging how you can help? Reach out and be a solution and not an instigator. I am sure that this would be a prayer that God would answer.


Yours in Christ

Heather



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Spouse, Happy House

I know that Ephesians 5 covers many things, the one I want to focus on is verses 21 - 31 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to t

bottom of page