top of page

Humble Wisdom

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

When I became a Sunday School teacher, I thought I was the bomb. Just think of all the kids I am going to bring to Jesus. Our numbers going from 3 to 50 was because of me, not because God ordained it. The hard work that I put into making flyers, delivering them to the schools, going to community showcases and signing them up was the reason, not God leading them to me. Then the shoe dropped, for two years we did not have one baptism. Why was this not happening?


I soon learned that it was not happening because God was waiting for me to learn who was the boss. Isn't it funny you think you know the best way to deal with godly things when you aren't God. It is very humbling to be knocked of your horse and made to walk behind it until you acknowledge where your wisdom comes from.


God gives us wisdom not to boost our own egos, but to be humble and be able to discern when and how to use it. We are not to boast about our achievements but acknowledge that without God, we would be wandering and lost. The gifts we are given are to further peoples lives towards their eternity with God, but without Him our gifts are useless and can bring about evil. When we begin to act in an earthly power, the power takes over and leaves us broken and alone. Power corrupts when not wielded with humility and discernment. We see examples of this everyday. Politicians who claim to be doing God's work and yet rule the country with an iron fist. Evangelist who proclaim the word of God and yet swindle people out of their money, practice infidelity, or forget the commandments. Those who are humble under God, can live the Christ-like life with no fear. Trust me when I humbled myself and acknowledged that it was God who brought the children to me, we had three baptized and many more pledge their lives to God.


Yours in Christ

Heather

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Spouse, Happy House

I know that Ephesians 5 covers many things, the one I want to focus on is verses 21 - 31 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to t

bottom of page